Hen Ogledd / Percolator (Tickets available on the door)

May 03 2019 20:00 - 22:45

The Workman's Club, 10 Wellington Quay, D02 VX36 Dublin 8

"There is a warped sense of mischief here, beyond the ken of even the most advanced artificial intelligence system."- Financial Times

"Hen Ogledd’s third LP is a magnificent mixture of ideas, energies, angles, beings, non-beings, constructions and monsters" - The Quietus

"..this is a weird record that circles history with an odd coil of sounds. But, truly, give this one a lot of attention. There are so many wonderful nuances in this music. Revelation takes time." - Soundblab

Hen Ogledd

A band project comprising Richard Dawson, Rhodri Davies, Dawn Bothwell and Sally Pilkington, Hen Ogledd’s meaning comes from the Welsh name for The Old North.

Mogic - out in November 2018 - is Hen Ogledd’s third LP (their first for Weird World), and their most surprising and accessible work yet.

Each hailing from historically different tribal regions of the Old North, the musicians on Mogic challenge the idea that the ancient world was rife with magic, while the new is infiltrated by cold logic. The tracks on Mogic create new phantasmal blends of images and ideas that draw upon the mystical and technological. Mogic is a discombobulating pop prayer exploring artificial intelligence, witches, nanotechnology, pre-medieval history, robots, romance, computer games and waterfalls.

This dynamic record of eddies and swirls, ravishing melodies, hallucinatory textures and bonkers rhythms is pinned down by some deft performances: Pilkington’s picture-perfect pop and earthy singing, Davies’ blazing harp splutterations and guitar moans, Bothwell's twisted telephone techno and bamboozling lyric-bombs and Dawson's utter bass.


Percolator started in Waterford in 2007 as a drum and guitar duo mainly influenced by the electro infused noise pop and shoegaze bands of the 80’s and 90’s. They released a

number of 7” singles and EPs, added a bassist, and gigged extensively, playing alongside many of their minstrelling heroes including Deerhoof, NEU!’s Michael Rother, A Place To Bury

Strangers and the now deceased Grant Hart of Husker Du.

In 2012, having gone through several line-up changes, the current and longest lasting line-up was formed. Consisting of John ‘Spud’ Murphy (Bass, Synths), and founding members

Eleanor Myler (Drums, vocals) and Ian Chestnutt (guitar vocals), the trio have spent the last 5 years transforming themselves into one of the most intriguing and melodically arresting bands in Ireland at the moment.

One Get Into The Gig Ticket Not Available